Wichita Coupon Mom

Make your kitchen cooking friendly!

Posted on: March 14, 2009

www.wichitacouponmom.com

If cooking at home is something you avoid at all cost, it could be costing you a bundle.  Even frozen dinners are more expensive than a good home cooked meal.  One of the main obstacles could be that your kitchen doesn’t have the tools you need to make cooking easier, or even fun!

0063189951943_215x215One of the first things you need is a set of good knives.  While most would have you believe you have to spend $50 to $100 on a good kitchen knife, I’m here to tell you, it just ain’t so!  I have spent $100 on Cutco cutlery, and I confess, they are good knives, but recently I discovered the Paula Deen Collection at Wal-Mart.  Originally I purchased the 2-Piece Santoku knives for a white elephant Christmas gift.  We ended up with our own gift, but I’m not sorry at all.  These knives are $10 for two, and they cut like a dream.  I have purposely used them over my other knives to see how quickly I can make them dull.  It’s now March and they are still as sharp as the day I opened them.

To go with your knives, have a couple of wood cutting boards.  I have one for veggies, onion and garlic, one for fruit, and a plastic one for meat.  Keep them clean and oil them every once in a while and they’ll treat you right. 

Food processors are another must.  Again, a large amount of money does not need to be spent, but don’t be too cheap. A $10 food processor will probably only give you $2 worth of work!  I have a GE that cost $30 about 4 years ago.  Still works great!

kapooshIf you have different sizes and brands of knives, storing them might be a challenge.  I found a wonderful knife block that doesn’t care what size or shape the knives are.  It will hold them all!  These can be found at Bed Bath & Beyond for $30.00.

 

To round things out, pick up nice skillets or pans when you can find them on sale or clearance.  No one cares if they don’t all match.  It’s what comes out that makes it worth while!

 

 

 Exclusively Ours Kapoosh Universal Cutlery Block

 

 

Advertise on my website free for 6 months!  Contact wichitacouponmom@cox.net . 

Leave a Reply

